Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Missus

I posted a male White-breasted Nuthatch (yardbird #13) back on 5 February but couldn't resist another nuthatch today - this time a female.  If you look closely at both photos, you will see that the male has a darker cap,  nearly black while the female's is paler.  Still, it's sometimes hard to see the difference in the field.  

White breasted nuthatches mate for life and each spring they reinforce their bonds by pair-feeding and displays by the male.  They also start singing in early spring (or mid-winter) with their peculiar fast-paced yank-yank-yank song.  Today when I was in the hide, I heard the spring songs of Tufted Titmice, Nuthatches and Red-winged Blackbirds - all early this year.  

Hubs and I went to the gym today and I managed to do 3 miles on the treadmill - double my best distance since breaking my foot!  Hubs did 5 miles.  Both feeling smug.

Had a nice chat with my parents this morning.  They just finished a huge geo caching event in Yuma, Arizona with nearly 1,000 people in attendance.  By all accounts, a successful event and a good time was had by all.  Tomorrow they leave, slowly headed north towards Oregon.  

Awaiting the results of the Democratic Primary in New Hampshire...

Thanks for stopping by.  

xo
Debbi

Fitness notes - post-break record of 3 miles today at an average speed of 3.7 MPH and minimal incline of 1%. Foot slightly swollen and sore later

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.