Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tuff Guy

I had to go with a Tufted Titmouse today - they are just ridiculously cute.  Like their cousins, the chickadees, they are also extremely flitty.  And that means that when I'm photographing them, I often come back with a nice photo of an empty branch.  

We had a couple of inches of fluffy snow last night so I started the day clearing pathways to feeders and heated water source. I was being heavily supervised by chickadees and titmice, all eager for the morning smorgasbord to be laid out.  Not a bad way to start the day.  I spent some time on the deck listening and watching, and snapping photos.  The third wren is still here and both Lefty and Mrs Lefty have been scolding and chasing him/her for the better part of the day.  I wish I could explain to them that there is plenty of food to go around, but it doesn't work that way.  It was interesting to see Mrs Lefty going after the newcomer - I hadn't realized that females also vigorously defend their territory.

Two more images starting HERE on Flickr with the "interloper" and a follow up of a snowbird.

I had the best news last night when my dad forwarded me an email confirming new appointments for he and mom.  Because of the impending snowstorm in the Portland, the weekend vaccine clinics are cancelled but they confirmed appointments for next Thursday.  I was so relieved when I got the email, that I promptly burst into tears, which freaked Hubs out until I could tell him that they were happy tears.  I don't think most men really understand happy tears.

Watching Day Two of the Senate Impeachment trial.  I know that the Senate won't vote to convict him, but at least all these awful things will be on record, forever.  I am just as shocked and horrified today as I was on 6 January.  

Stay safe, be kind...don't run out of chocolate!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.