Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Eight is Great

I don't think Black Vultures made it onto my yardbird list last year - not because I didn't see them but more that I never took a photo.  Although Turkey Vultures are more abundant here, we do have both species year-round and I commonly see them drifting in lazy circles over our house.  I like vultures - what they lack in looks they make up for in the graceful way they navigate the thermals, making flight look so easy.

Jax "graduated" from obedience class last night.  I use the term "graduated" with a fair amount of hesitancy because he is only selectively obedient at this point.  In fact, we took a mile walk in the park today wherein he nearly removed my arm from my body, so hard was he tugging.  We did about a hundred turn-arounds and at least that many "sits" and "focus" - basically every time we saw a dog or a child or really anything human.  But I am determined.  My new life's purpose is to train this dog!  I will put two graduation pics in Extra - he hated the hat.

The Saga of the Traveling Beds continues with Jax determined to relocate every cat bed he has access to.  He came trotting out of Hubs office several times today with Phoebe's favorite bed and then while in my office, he tried multiple times to get the cat bed off the window shelf.  Well, at least it is giving us a chance to teach "leave it."  Sigh.

I've been really struggling with depression this week - I think it is a cumulative effect of 2 years of pandemic, cancer and trying to navigate a puppy.  Anyway, today was one of those days where it was honestly a huge effort to just get out of bed and stay out of bed.  Hubs had a stern talk with me about the need for self-care.  I will get through it and having a couple of nice weather days helps.  I actually sat outside this afternoon for almost an hour and took photos with the pup happily ensconced on the gated deck.  It was restorative.

Dark with ganache and espresso nibs.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.