Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Uh Oh

The sun was out this morning and the temps warmed up enough that some of the massive piles of snow are trying melt.  So, I decided to step outside with my camera and see what might pop up.

I can't ever really resist wrens so when this one popped up about 5 feet from me, I clicked away.  While registering that it looked lighter than our resident male (Lefty, blipped HERE).  I thought it might be his mate as the two of them have been hanging around eating suet together lately.  But then, out of nowhere, Lefty came roaring up and proceeded to chase this little guy all over the yard.  It was epic.  And I felt so proud of Lefty for defending his territory and mate in such a decisive fashion.  I would really hate it if he lost out to a rival.  I've known Lefty for almost 2 years when he first showed up with his deformed bill and went on to prove that little things like twisted beak weren't going to stop him from having a full wren-life.  So, we'll see...

Meanwhile, there is a big winter storm moving in to the Portland area (where my parents live) and it looks like it could be big enough to cause their vaccine appointments to be cancelled.  I am beside myself and have been checking the weather obsessively.  I know Dad is on top of things and will be checking the OHSU website to see when they post any sort of news regarding the vaccine clinic for Saturday.  I just want so badly for them to get their vaccines.

Hubs and are are watching some of the Impeachment Trial.  I find the whole thing very chilling on so many levels.  I still don't really understand the power he seems to hold over so many people in the US.  There was never even a shred of evidence to support his wild accusations of voter fraud and yet people believe it.  And look what happened at our Capitol on 6 January...

So, please be kind and stay safe.  And eat chocolate as I hear it raises good endorphin levels.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.