Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Doe in the Snow

More snow today...and while I am enjoying getting "things in snow" pics, I am starting to get a little tired of the vast amount of white around me.  I think we got 3-4 inches today and there is another possibly big storm brewing for the weekend, not to mention some minor snowfall Thursday and Friday.  At least the garden is getting a good watering and all my native seeds are getting their recommended cold stratification period.

I took this shot through the window so it's not as sharp as I'd like.  But had I tried to step outside, the deer and her two friends (another doe and a yearling) would have vanished.  Even as it was, this one caught my movement through the window and was on high alert.  First does I've seen around this winter, although there is a lone buck who comes around every night for the corn I leave out (and for any birdseed left in feeders, too).  I am putting a shot of the whole deer in Extra so you can see how deep the snow in the yard is - it's no wonder they are out foraging in broad daylight right now as there is very little food for them.   Hubs and I went out and bought two 40 pound bags of dried corn yesterday to put out at night - neither of us can bear seeing the wild animals going hungry. 

Watching some of the Impeachment Trial on the TV today.  I don't have any real doubts as to the outcome, but maybe I'll be surprised.  The House Impeachment Managers put together a clip of video from that day of the riot using a lot of footage that has come from various people's phones - it's chilling.  

There is a gang of unruly starlings that have taken up residence in the garden, gobbling suet and generally causing a ruckus.  Once the snow is gone, they will disappear but for now they are loud and obnoxious.  And also somewhat entertaining.  One of today's more humourous shots HERE on Flickr

Stay safe, be kind.  And chocolate...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.