Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Love

That is what I am filled up with today.  Love.  These are my husband's hands on his keyboard this morning, shortly before we cranked up our Bicoastal Vaccine Mission.  The Mission was to try to get appointments for one or both of my parents to get their vaccines when the "80 and over" group opened up this morning in Oregon.  

I was upstairs in my workspace trying to log on a bit before the "official" opening and when I surprisingly seemed like I was getting through I hollered downstairs for Hubs to try.  Before I could finish inputting data, Hubs yelled up to me that he had an appointment for my Mom!  He started typing in data as quickly as possible while I rang up Mom and Dad to get additional info. While Hubs was finishing up the process on Mom's appointment, my dad got on the same website (from their home in Oregon) and secured a slot for himself, miraculously adjacent to her time slot.

At which point I didn't know whether to laugh or cry.  I can't describe the absolute joy and relief I am feeling to know that both of my parents are on track to get their first jab this coming Saturday.  When we got back on the phone after the appointments were finalized, my mom was laughing, saying how crazy it is to be this over-the-moon excited to get a vaccine that we know very little about for a virus that we'd barely even heard of a year ago.  

So this is my submission for today's Mono Monday challenge of "Romance".  Getting appointments for Covid vaccines may not seem the height of romance to some, but I can't think of a thing my husband could have done that would have been more romantic (to me) than scoring an appointment for my mom.

I am going to bask in happiness for the rest of the day.  And I'm going to eat some chocolate.

Be safe, be kind, be loving.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.