Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Costa Coffee

Today was a very strange and at times stressful day.
 
My husband had an early appointment at Addenbrookes this morning, but the 0741 hours train from our village was scheduled to arrive. Then just after I purchased the tickets, at 0730 hours, it was delayed and then cancelled. Fortunately I still had my daughter on “standby” so she collected us. The traffic was horrendous, but instead of taking us to her office so we could get a taxi, she took us to the park and ride, which would be quicker as the bus goes along a different route, so it does not get stuck in the traffic towards Addenbrookes. We arrived at Addenbrookes in time to have coffee and a snack, which is today’s picture.
 
My husband’s appointment went well and was fairly quick so we went into town to purchase two items that he wanted; only one was available. Then we caught the bus back to Addenbrookes for my 1240 hours appointment. We had time for coffee and then booked in at clinic three.
 
I had my eyes tested, photographed and then the pressures were taken. Two hours later I went to the reception desk to see if I had been missed. No, I was still on Professor Bourne’s list and he was in the building. Professor Bourne eventually arrived and I was the second patient to see him. He apologised for being late, but had been off site at another clinic. Why some receptionists do not tell the truth I do not know.
 
Professor Bourne looked at my eyes and then took the stitches out. I could feel them being taken out although it did not hurt very much, but it was more than “just a tickle” as he described it. I then had to have an eye patch, which I had not realised I would need. Best of all I do not have to go back to clinic three again and was discharged.
 
I had been checking the Greater Anglia app and the trains were running. However, just before we left the clinic I checked them again and discovered that they had all been cancelled due to a branch, which had come down and taken out the overheads. Fortunately my daughter had not gone home so we went to the park and ride and she collected us from there. She also had one of her staff with her who also uses the same train line. Her husband was able to collect her from my daughter’s house.
 
Once home I cooked a quick dinner of jacket potatoes and fillings as without my spectacles, which do not fit over an eye patch I could not see well enough to prepare vegetables.

Despite the high winds the temperature at GMT noon was eight degrees Celsius.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.