14022020

Feliz San Valentín a todo!

I had a very different day to what I expected. I expected a long walk down to the beach and back, but...

My Danish neighbors are coming on Monday, so I took their mail - and for the first time ever - decided to put it inside their house. I have the key so I planned to just drop it inside the door and never to step foot inside. I happen to look at the front wall, and I see spots. Thousands of mold spots throughout the whole wall.

So I took some pictures and send them and said that I only looked at the very front of the house and that I have spray for mold so I can go spray the wall if they wish so.

They asked me to check the rest of the house. So I go in with my spray and start checking the rooms. And OMG how much there were mold in the upstairs bedroom and some downstairs. So I took pictures and sent them. And started to spray and wash the walls. Where I could reach (I brought our latter to help me).

Then I left it be and after lunch and doggy walk went back with vinegar and washed everything for the second time with that. (It kills bacteria.) Naturally I kept the doors and windows open to ventilate. I also washed the sofa and a chair from mold with the vinegar. Luckily it came off nicely. It was just in the surface.

They had left the house locked tightly without any ventilation. We got the heavy rains, so this was bound to happen. Even in here, the houses need looking after.

Anyway I got perhaps 85% off. I could not reach some places. But I'll go again tomorrow and ventilate it again. I also left the ventilation holes open. And switched on mechanic ventilation system we have. We have these systems in place, but they need to be used!

They are coming only for 4 days, so I wanted to try help save some of their vacation.

But what a day! I'm exhausted by now. It's hard job washing walls and ceilings. And I feel like I stink of vinegar. My hands do even after 10 washes.

In the picture some of the epoxy resin works I've done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.