Had to Turn Back

I slept through Storm Dennis, I was that tired. So did William and so did Basil. The flood alarms were going off all night with the highest readings I've ever seen, when I finally opened  my emails this evening.

Photos of flooding in Loughborough and East Leake abounded on Facebook. I thought I'd pop down to the Black Brook to see what was happening there. The water was racing under the bridge on the Hathern Road. The stream had burst its banks and was spilling out over the neighbouring fields. No housing there then, but a Travellers' Camp is supposed to happen there at some time.

Then round to Oakley Road where the Black Brook and Grace Dieu Brook converge. Photo shows Oakley Road with water racing fast down the bordering ditch. The convergence takes place just round the bend of the road.

A Range Rover sailed past me and into the water which went over its wheels. Stop, start, stop, the gradually crawled round. The driver was a young man who obviously thought he had the power of DC. He returned within a minute. I think you can see why.

Lovely egg and bacon breakfast from Len this morning before the kids returned home to Leicester.

I took a photo of Len's Valentine rose. See extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.