Smith Brothers...

...a restaurant on the harbor specializing in......I'll bet you can't guess.....fish! Haha.  I've never eaten there but I've always liked their sign, as the fisherman is lit up in sort of a magenta glow light and the fish is lit up in day glow yellow!  After we drove to get a blip of the sign, Tom & I went over to see my aunt. I brought along a framed copy of the picture I took of she and my Uncle & gave it to her. I was glad I did it because she really loved it. Today she was telling us about when she was 8 years old & my grandparents were trying to find a place to live that would accept 4 children. They finally found a tiny "cottage" to rent; it was behind someone's home and the only heat was from the stove. She said she was always freezing so bad that she'd take her blanket off the bed, lay it on the floor in the kitchen next to the stove and sleep there. She said my mom loved the cold and couldn't stand to be hot so was perfectly happy sleeping out on the enclosed, unheated porch at the back of the cottage. I started to laugh, and she said it was true! I said I was laughing because I understood completely, and I AM my mother's daughter. I can't tolerate the heat either, and even now, in the middle of winter, I have the heating vent in our bedroom closed off because I can't sleep if it's not really cool. She just looked at me and rolled her eyes, which made me laugh harder. I hated to leave, as she always says she gets so bored, but I promised we'd be back soon.  Thanks so much to 60Plus for taking over hosting duties for MonoMonday and today's theme of "looking up".  :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.