Colored Daisies...

...in ice. This one turned out a lot better than my last attempt & I was happy with it. It was snowing last night so it put me in the mood to retry freezing some more flowers. The snow only lightly coated the roads, but about 10:30 last night it changed to driving ice--we could hear it hitting the windows--and what a mess this morning as the sidewalks and driveways were all coated in ice, making walking treacherous. The sun came out about 9:30 so I went and threw salt all over the ice hoping some of it would melt, and then I ran over to vote and to put some gas in the car. When I got back I used the shovel to start prying up the ice, which in some places had softened a little, and then Tom came out to help me. Then Elaine, our 88 year old next door neighbor, started on the sidewalks; we always tell her not to help us and we try to get hers done before she comes out,  but she said it helps keep her muscles strong. Then our neighbor on the other side--a young single guy--finished his and started on our walk from the other direction. He was a lot faster than all of us put together, doing not only our sidewalk and Elaine's but half our driveway. I'm going to have to get him a little something, as that was really nice of him to do. We have such nice neighbors!! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.