Mmmm, cakes!

Ive been home since 5, having escaped at 4pm on the dot and running to the bus stop for the 4.04 bus. I think it was a minute late, so I was there in plenty of time. I picked Henry up at 4.40 and we were home at 5. It was even still daylight. Jon had started work at 7 today so was home earlier.

They went out to the gym and I cooked dinner, and with radio 4 for company I baked these almond slice cakes, (which are one of our favourites) for Jon to take in to work tomorrow for his birthday. There are enough for us to have one with a cup of tea tonight though. They are an unusual bake as there is no flour in them. They are just ground almonds, sugar and dried milk powder, all glued together with melted butter and eggs. I put some glace cherries in today, but they aren't in the recipe. They sank to the bottom I noticed!

Minnie is still alive. I took her out and put her on the grass with some corn, but she has to use her wing to balance. I cleaned out her cat basket then put her back. She is a tough old bird, but with only one leg she just cant move about. What to do? So horrible as there can only be one end. Not het though.

Some tv tonight. Jon is excelling himself on the University Challenge questions. I haven't got any right!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.