More visitors

When Manda came to visit today, she wasn't alone. Sarah came too, and they brought me oatmeal raisin cookies and scones. I decided to keep half of those and send the rest away to prevent temptation. They stayed for about an hour and a half and we talked about everything, the babies coming and plans for Sarah's wedding. Each of them is ready for her big occasion to be here already. What I last saw Sarah, she and Nick were about to go for their tastings for the wedding menu. What they chose sounds really delicious. I'm looking forward to being there. Amanda's baby shower is just two weeks from today and my presence there is still up in the air, pending improvements in my medical condition.

Doug dropped by a while later to bring me my bed pillow which I'd asked for. The mattress that I sleep on here is a hard slab of foam rubber and I can't do anything about that, but a soft pillow works wonders. I had a bit of a lie-in this afternoon and was much more comfortable. We had a nice long talk about all kinds of things.

So the day was going really well until my dinner arrived. It consisted of two cups of dry spaghetti with oil and parmesan cheese, a large slice of garlic bread and half a cup of overcooked summer squash, with a side of Mandarin orange slices. I couldn't believe this is what they gave a diabetic with kidney disease for a meal. Fortunately the nurse who came to give me my insulin was equally appalled at what I'd been given and was able to bring me a small piece of chicken with carrots. So this is an ongoing battle, just when I thought we'd come to some understanding about my diet.

This being the weekend, there were no services provided and I spent most of the day in my wheelchair. But Gina and Terry are coming to visit tomorrow afternoon, so I have something to look forward to. Maybe they'll bring me a salad!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.