Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Dusk

(25/2/20)

Isn't dusk the most magical time to take pictures?! I just love it! It's my favourite time of day to capture the light.

So, today, the morning passed happily enough. I got asked if I wanted to continue in March. I, of course, said "yes"! Although there was some toing and froing by email about some restrictions. Oh well.

We were able to get a bit of rest in before meeting up with Diane and Trevor to head to Neos for their Happy Hour. We had plenty of time to watch the sunset and then see all the lights come on. My blip is of sparkles in the fountain just before a show starts.

Sadly, we couldn't stay until 8 pm when Ladies Night starts. G & I had been given free tickets to Holy Trinity Church's Choral Concert being held at Dubai Opera. This was to celebrate their 50th anniversary.

We decided the best way to get there was to walk, and very kindly, Diane and Trevor left early as well to walk with us. Dubai Mall was heaving. I guess loads of people venture out at the end of the work-week. We had time to take in another fountain show and sit and admire the water feature outside the Dubai Opera building.

As for the concert... there were six choirs from around the region. The Madras choir (Extra 2) really impressed me. I loved how they had their uniforms for maximum effect. They chose some lovely, upbeat songs and had a bit of choreography during their performance. My first extra is of the entire orchestra and all the singers from all the choirs. They did us a rendition of Handel's Hallelujah Chorus! It was GOOD!

The best part of these evenings is always meeting up with old friends. Tonight, we found two of them sitting right next to us. They are the parents of one of our Pathfinders. We talked during the interval, and at the end, the dad asked us if we had driven there. We said, "No," and he offered us a ride home! I have to say that was very welcome and appreciated.

We didn't just get a ride home, we also got treated to a light snack from our local Lebanese. During the course of our conversation, I discovered that the mum had constant pain from arthritis, so I invited her home in order to give her a bottle of Lavylites, to see if it helps. I think I finally got into my bed around 1 am! What a great day! :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.