Oregon Grape

Oregon Grape grows wild in our area; it has holly like leaves and the little yellow flowers turn into dark blue berries that look like very small grapes. The berries are eaten my forest & song birds and can be eaten by people but it isn't a very pleasant flavor. I saw Oregon Grape capsules in the store so I looked up what they were good for. Here is what I found: The root and root-like stem (rhizome) are used to make medicine. Oregon grape is used for stomach ulcers, gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD), stomach upset, as a bitter tonic, to treat infections, and to cleanse the bowels. Hmmmm......very interesting. 


Ellie and I went to story time at the library today. She wanted to play with the kids in the play area after storytime; it was a fun time for her, she is learning to play with other children. I am glad there are places where children are well supervised and respectful to each other. 


Since my husband went back to the beach house, Ellie and I went out to lunch. At home we read books and then she took a nice long nap.....I like that quiet time of day.  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.