Journey Through Time

By Sue

Pine Siskin (Carduelis pinus)

I'll leave this up for today, but saw that somebody already got the Pine Siskin. I thought the spot was available as I looked for Pine Siskin on the list...but he has it under Siskin, Pine. Oh well. Not surprising that somebody else got this on the Blip Big Year as they are all over the country.

Pine Siskins are little birds that are found over most of the US, up the west coast to southern Alaska and the southern part of Canada and down into Mexico. They often travel with goldfinches. They are fun to watch at the feeder, and they do love to eat niger seed. A group of pine siskins will fight each other for prime locations at the feeder, often ending up in some pretty fun ariel displays. This one showed up at our water fountain, and it hogged the spa facilities and wouldn't let anybody else join him in the jacuzzi. Here it's thinking, (I think), "I'm going in!". You can see how much fun the water can be.

Tomorrow I'm supposed to get my hair cut at 10 a.m. and the weather may turn nasty as the rain is coming back but we have this lovely cold air that will make a bit of a mess of it, so the weather folk say. Ugh. I hope I will be able to make the appointment. Maybe I should call and change the time. Hmmmm, wonder if that would work. Possibly.

Hope all is well in Blipland, my friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.