CROSS FELL - TEMPLE SOWERBY

The sun was shining today so I took G out.

We set off up the M6 to Penrith.  Oh my goodness the Howgills have never looked so spectacular - covered in snow with bright clear blue sky behind then.  The sad thing is with driving and being on a motorway I couldn't stop to take photos and by the time you got to the junctions where you may be able to take photos we couldn't see them so well.  I will have to investigate it to find somewhere I can stop to get the best views of them.  

Anyway we arrived in Penrith, really just to visit a couple of second-hand bookshops, which we both love.  We stopped for a coffee first and then browsed the bookshops.  Beckside Books in particular is small but very good, because once you've made it up the stairs there is a cosy Fiction Nook with a sofa, which meant Garron could rest up, which he needs to do because of his dizzy spells.  After this we walked around St Andrews Church grounds.  I was looking for to photograph things made of stone as that is the theme for LetsDo52 this week.

We then decided to go to Brougham Hall for lunch.  This is a ruin with artisan shops and a cafe in its grounds.  On the way there on the A66 I missed the turning I should have taken so drove on down to Temple Sowerby where we pulled into a farm track to take the above photo, as well as several others.  I think this is called Cross Fell and The Pennines are behind it.

We then returned back up the A66 towards Penrith when I found my turning.  We decided to Brougham Castle a miss today as we may well be visiting that on our way back from Beamish.

It hasn't changed since my last visit about two years ago.  As it was now 2.00 pm we needed some lunch so called into The Cafe first.  I couldn't believe it - on the menu was a dish called "Stone Soup".  Yeah I could use this as my LetsDo52 as I do like to try and find something a little different if I can. 

 It is really a clear soup with vegetables and fresh herbs.  There is a wonderful folklore story as to why it is called Stone Soup, which I had to read whilst we sat there, with some lovely home-made bread.  Delicious.
It is a European fable which has many slightly different variations, but is basically very similar.  I have included a link for those that are interested.

Brougham Hall
Stone Soup

Another good place for G as he could sit on a bench in the beautiful courtyard whilst I clambered around the ruins taking photos!!!!

We had such a sunny day, but as we left the A590 onto the Grange road we came into a heavy sleety shower right through Grange and then - the sun was shining again in Kents Bank, Hubby said he hadn't seen any rain all day either!!!!

All in all a really lovely day.  So glad we made the most of such a lovely day as we don't know how long it will last.

Thank you so much for dropping by.  Take care, stay safe and see you all tomorrow.  I will try and and catch up on your blips tomorrow, sorry for the delay.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.