Capital adventures

By marchmont

Penultimate stage on the Nostalgia Tour

Up earlier today to sort the suitcase (minimal), have tea and toast, 'listen' to the omnipresent Magic Radio (hits of the 60's, 60's and 70's), talk Sim family and sew.

Then to catch the Intercity to Christchurch. I've certainly learned more than I ever thought I'd need to know about farming in Central Canterbury but A and N are very kind and the pay off was wine in the garden and meals later than 6.30 pm.

Once booked in to the hotel I arranged a day trip to Akaroa tomorrow,  a 'good idea' as it turned out. The rest of the afternoon was spent eating cake (& drinking fizz), punting on the Avon ( and did you know it was named by Scots after a river in Ayrshire, NOT the Stratford on Avon one?), walking round the Botanic Gardens and taking the City Tram.

Spent some time in Cathedral Square. The earthquake was on 22.2.11. I was last here early April 2010 so much has changed, Cathedral Square is pretty much unrecognisable. I never went into the Cathedral the last time, lack of time I think. They are still rebuilding the city, many empty blocks and car parks where buildings were. Blippers were amazing after the earthquake. I first started following Barking when she was in Rangiora helping with the relief effort.

I ended by visiting the Transitional Cathedral and the white chairs installation. And I've had yet more fish and chips, probably my decades allocation this trip.

I'm monitoring the virus. I am not feart of catching it, I'm pretty low risk but I am feart of being stranded there. Once I get back to KL I'll feel secure and no hardship to be stranded there. With some of the warnings and predictions that are coming out now I'm reminded of the exercise we ran when I was in the Council in early 2000's . It was planning for a pandemic. There was much about the impact on working parents if schools had to close and that is beginning to happen now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.