Plans

Today started full of promise, as I was expecting to cross over to the Big City and meet a school friend. 

He had suggested we go to a rugby game in the afternoon. Well, mid morning as I was looking out at the snow falling - horizontally in the gale force wind - he phoned to tell me he was calling off. Quite rightly, he thought 90 minutes sitting outside in that weather would be unpleasant, plus it would ruin the game. 

We spent almost an hour on the phone, catching up. We have both just received invitations to a school reunion in May, to mark 50 years since we left. The invitation included a list of the names all all of us who left that summer, with a discreet asterisk against the names of those who are no longer with us. 

I will go to the reunion, although these things are really not my idea of fun, but you never know. Perhaps some of the people I thought were idiots 50 years ago (80% of them) have mellowed with age. 

I had another long telephone conversation in the afternoon, with Barclaycard this time. Ryanair has helped itself to £135 from my account without giving a flight in exchange. My card was rejected when I was trying to book. 

In between I walked along the beach at West Wemyss, seeking fresh air, exercise and a Blip. The air was superfresh of course, arriving at about 50mph (that's 80kph in the rest of the world). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.