Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Peacocks at Kovalam

I am always amazed when I see peacocks in trees. It just seems so unlikely that they could have got themselves up there. I remembered seeing them in this tree last year so when I went along to the post office this morning I looked up and sure enough there they were, two males shouting the breeze so to speak. Not sure where their women folk were, likely getting the kids sorted out!!
This is my last full 24 hours in India, I am here tomorrow for the whole day then leave the hotel just before 1am for the airport for my 3.30am flight. Its only 15 minutes away and there is nothing to do there at all. They have changed all of the Middle Eastern airline's flights to and from Trivandrum from middle of the day to the very early morning so it is going to be a busy, hot and not particularly pleasant experience. There'll most likely be lots of masks on view there too.
Today though was nice, it's been very hot the last couple of days so I did the things I had to do early in the day then spent a couple of hours relaxing by the pool. It's really almost too hot for that too though and I only emerge from my umbrella to go into the water for a swim.
I had a massage this afternoon, very nice too but I forgot to say I didn't want my scalp done so it was left very oily, felt good though. After that along to the Lonely Planet restaurant where I sat with a pot of masala Chao and a banana and pineapple pancake. (see extra) Delicious. I didn't want much lunch as I was going out with my German friends for dinner. They come here every year too and we've met up for about the last 5 or 6. They came for a day in Edinburgh in August last year too.
Dinner was good and just what I needed after an evening of squeezing things into my case.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.