It was a toss up ... the lichen bench won

All of the lichens in yesterdays blip were from this bench. I love it!! You could'nt sit on it as it's very wonky & unstable. A statement piece. :- )

Yogi & I were up & about this morning, Jacob the plumber,  & his mate were coming at 8am to check all was ticketyboo with the heating. A 15 minute visit, re-fitting the carousel shelves into the corner cupboard where some of the plumbing bits were. A couple of airlocks sorted then off they went.
It was a miserable morning, I could'nt see the estuary for the low lying mist, so we headed to Hearn field for our exercise. A pair of woodpeckers were making a helluva a racket. The female playing hard to get I reckon. They moved too fast to get a good look let alone a pic. It's that time of year.
Then we popped into the Rowcroft Hospice distribution centre at Newton Abbot to drop off 2 boxes of stuff I don't need in my life. Boot empty, I then went around the corner to the Recycle centre, where anything that is brought in and dropped off, and could be resold is. I bought a sturdy bare wood chair, perfect height for my creative hub/spare bedroom. Hubby got a bit assy last week when I used the chair that he uses as a wardrobe. A coat of paint plus a cushion made by moi... job done all for the princely sum of  £3. A chap in the car park made conversation, we had a laugh about getting purchases into small cars. I know I cannot get a patio table top in mine, nor a composter bin. Useless info unless you're an Aygo owner. His small car was purchased for his son who has'nt passed his test yet, but the battery was flat on his vehicle. "I put more windscreen washer in than petrol". We had a laugh! I managed to get the chair in my front passenger seat. Yogi wondered what was going on. Next, a visit to Sainsbury's. Very quiet & civilized. I bought courgettes, mushrooms, a couple of ciabatta, & a jumper. An impulse? Well not quite. I'd actually seen the jumper on-line through the Argos link. It is for want of a better example acid green, one of the colours in the chunky scarf I knitted. It was the only one of this style/colour.1/2 price. £10. It was meant to be. I cant remember the last time I shopped in Sainsbury's. Had another chat, firstly with the customer behind me, then with the checkout assistant. Another laugh! Laughter is good for you, right? It costs nothing to be friendly. :- )
On the way back I stopped at teh creek to look for a Wide Wednesday image. Shelducks, a solitary Redshank, & a few gulls, but nothing really worthy of a blip with the dull skies. I picked up the dumped McDonald's cups/straws/ plastic cutlery, plus a wheel hub cover and a large piece of plastic that I think may have come off the bottom of a vehicle. This area was obviously flooded during the recent storms as this creek is on the Teign estuary. There is a rubbish bin at this little pull in area, so why can't the lazy B's get out of their vehicles and dispose of their rubbish responsibly. 
What to do on a yucky morning, well, when I packed to come down here I grabbed my repurposed Qantas airlines pouch, I think it might have contained a pair of inflight socks, it's 18 years since I flew Qantas so I could be wrong. I use the pouch for storing my memory sticks & sd cards, one of the memory sticks had my December2015/January2016 Thailand walks on it, which I ended up putting on slide show. I had some wonderful walks and experiences with nature, sea slugs, mollluscs, starfish, bubble rafting snails, snakes, spiders, butterflies, bugs, & a multitude of dragon & damselflies ... Many of which I added to my Project Noah spottings. Finding, identifying, & logging my findings on PN took quite a lot of my time as so often I would come across something I had never seen before & needed an ident. When I was'nt doing this I would be fartassing about. Similar to fartnarkling really.
Josie came over for coffee, we WERE going to have a lino cutting afternoon,but by the time we'd put the world to rights, had coffee, my first Hot cross bun, since probably last Easter, even though they've been for sale in the supermarkets since last Easter, (what's that all about????). Anyway, they were from Morrison's. lovely & fruity with a generous amount of spice. Scrummy! We did'nt get to create. Well I did a quick photo shoot of Josie in her Alzheimer's Society walk tee shirt & wig to try and jiggle up some sponsorship. Her blue wig needed a bit of seeing to. I got the job, well I volunteered actually, as I have done a bit of hairdressing. A quick Youtube search for 'feathered fringe' brought up - 'How to cut curtain bangs', 'How to get the perfect crispy bangs' Bangs American for fringe. Think I prefer fringe. Found a chap/hairdresser who sectioned the front of the hair, combed it, combed it, & combed it again then twisted it, chopped, nay, feathered the excess. I did it something like that, Josie was happy with the result. I suggested her new hairdresser might like to tidy it up should she feel the need.

Currently watching the first episode of The Trouble With Maggie Cole
Will have to watch The Great Pottery Throwdown on catch up. @ programmes that I'd like to watch both on at 9pm. Hey ho!!!

Fancy exploring a bit further afield tomorrow, so need to check out the local bridlepaths etc.

Butternut squash & spinach croquettes ( Sainsbury's) with  mushroom,tomato, onion, courgette mish mash for dinner tonight. Yummy!

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting Wide Wednesday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.