Bingo!

My attention was attracted to two loose white butterfly wings low on a long applemint stalk. I looked up saw a praying mantis near the flower end. No, there were two! Just what I’ve been hoping for.

The face of the female was covered in white butterfly dust. No doubt it was she who ate the butterfly.

Another position is in the extra shot on the left. Two and a half hours later they were still at it, but the female had caught herself a fly (see the right side). The male seems not to have moved at all.

Don’t be concerned for the male. Our females are not in the habit of eating their mates. I have more work for him. Less than 2 metres away there is another female.

I have blipped both these individuals before- he as a nymph and then as an adult, and she more recently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.