The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Tidelines, by Rachel Oram

I went with CleanSteve to the Wayzgoose letterpress printers' fair at the Stroud Brewery, near Brimscombe.

The event was crowded, with, I'd say, 40-odd traders, and an exhibition on a different floor. My friend Kitty Crossley was exhibiting one of my poems, which she had set in type. It's a long poem, so the type is very small, so I haven't reproduced it here. She's done it proud, needless to say. The watery images by Rachel Oram really stood out for me. Might try to buy one, even.

We had a drink and chatted to various friends, then as soon as we went home. I left to go to the birthday party of the little boy I've been looking after. Let's just say it was exhausting, but I enjoyed chatting to the adults present. I walked back with the mother and her two children, up a staggered flight of about one hundred steps. The little boy didn't want to walk... However, we got there without too much of a struggle.

Afterwards, I sorted out the washing at home, then got into bed to read, and fell asleep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.