Unseen, but not forgotten.

Five years comes around quickly, and I broke just a bit when his daughter Rhianna popped up on my Twitter feed with 'GNU Dad, Miss you always'.

I never met P'Terry, but we had a few conversations on A Most Excellent Off Line reader in the last days of the pre-Internet, when everyone chattered over buzzing modems and nobody had heard of Facebook. I once worked in the same office as him, albeit a few years separated, at the CEGB offices in Bristol where he told everyone how wonderful nuclear power stations were.

The Discworld series is a particularly fine book sequence, indeed a genre in its own right. His rendition of witches, headology, ceremonial magic and other pagan matters was always very well informed, and we'll leave it at that. I of course hold a degree from Unseen University and this is my ceremonial alumnus badge.

I'll raise a glass again tonight. You can't have enough reasons to raise a glass, and I seem to find one most nights. GNU P'Terry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.