COFFEE WITH A FRIEND AND LUNCH WITH ANOTHER FRIEND

I have been friendly with S for about ten years now - we met when we were both helping as volunteers at a local school and just clicked - that’s how it happens with some people!  

After that we started having coffee together occasionally and then she stopped volunteering because she got a full time job, so I didn’t see her as regularly, but over the years, we have still met up occasionally to chat and encourage one another.  

We have both been through a lot during the last ten years, but we have been there for one another and although S is much younger, we just hit it off - I like to think that she is the daughter I never had!

Today we met for coffee and where else but Jack’s?  I couldn’t believe that I had never given her one of my hearts, so made sure I gave her two - one for her and one for her lovely daughter.  Only after I had taken the photograph did I realise that S was wearing a jumper with hearts on it.

Because I am “fasting” from being on Facebook for Lent - S joined Blip so that she could still see my Blips every day, but today I persuaded her to post her first one - and she did!!  Please go and have a look and encourage her - you will find her here : Summershaz1975.

I took this shot of her and although the hearts I had given her were in the photograph, I rather liked this one of her as a head and shoulders portrait.  It looks as if she’s wearing a red rose, but in fact, it’s one of the roses on the table at Jack’s - and you know that I always say the flowers in there are beautiful.  

Mr. HCB picked me up at about 11.45 a.m. and we then went out for lunch with our friend, Elizabeth and her Mum - her Dad came too, so that was a bonus.  I have put an extra shot in to show Elizabeth about to tackle her humungous chocolate pudding - with her Dad looking over her shoulder.  I think Elizabeth’s face says it all - it was quite obvious that there was to be absolutely no sharing of her pudding!  She wouldn't even let me have a spoonful, so I was very disappointed. 

After that we popped over to John Lewis and I managed to buy something ready for Silly Saturday, having left a little rabbit with a Cadbury’s Creme Egg inside for Joe (and I can’t believe I didn’t take a photograph of it!) for being such a good sport when I rearranged the rabbits over there a couple of weeks ago.

“A friend is someone
     who helps you up
          when you’re down,
and if they can’t,
     they lay down beside you
          and listen.”
Winnie the Pooh

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.