An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

In the pink...

The coronavirus situation really is getting quite worrying.

Alan comes under the description of a vulnerable person as he has asthma (although very mild) and has already had pneumonia, which has likely left scarring on his lungs.

David was due to meet friends for dinner in Glasgow tonight before heading to see Jamie Cullum in concert.  We spent the morning debating whether or not he would go.  In the end we decided he would go as Alan was heading to Glasgow himself this afternoon!  We do follow all the current safety advice, but I think after today we have to start being more mindful of the risks and start to curtail activities.  We won't have any choice anyway, if the Scottish Government goes ahead and bans gatherings of over 500 at the start of the week.

This afternoon David brought my art supplies back to the dining room table (we moved them when the girls were here) so all is well again.  

David left to head to Glasgow just after 4pm and with Alan out too, I settled down to a task I've been meaning to start for a long time...to investigate the history of our house.

I  already knew who had built it so started with him.  Fascinating stuff!  And scary how many links his ancestral family has to the village I grew up in.  There was even a street in my village that bears the same name as our house.  In fact the house my mum was born in and the house my grandparents lived in and I spent my childhood, were built by and all originally belonged to his family!  

On Scotland's People website, I managed to trace the house on the Valuation Rolls through the years 1905, 1915, 1920, 1925, 1930, 1935 and 1940.

I was able to find out that the original owner retained ownership (although he never lived in it.  He build it as a retirement/care home for workers from his estate) till he died in 1928, when the house was passed over to a Trust.  It was still in Trust in 1940, but there the online trail ends.  If I want to see the Valuation Rolls post 1940, I will have to go to the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh.

A great start to my investigations :-))

Since I haven't been over the door today, all I had to blip were the flowers in the vase beside me as I carried out my house investigations.

Backblips

BODMAS
Water Babies
Snowcapped

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.