Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Big Shop

I can't believe the news these days. We seem to be living in unprecedented times!

G had a time of prayer with two other ladies in the flat. I thought they were to start at 10:30 but the others arrived at 9:50 so I wasn't quite ready. My plan was to do the ironing, but they finished almost when I started!

We headed to Carrefour in Festival City to do the sensible thing of stocking up on a few things, just in case. We got there to find the car park quite empty. This is very unusual for a Saturday. I'm really pleased we went into the first pharmacy we passed and asked about G's cancer medicine. They had it; in the dose she needs as well so we bought all the boxes they had - which was two! No joy with thyroxine though. That is out of stock with the supplier and has been for several months now.

Carrefour was . . . interesting, annoying, you name it. We haven't shopped on a Saturday for years, so I'm not sure if the busyness was because of the weekend or because of the times we find ourselves in. Some shelves were completely empty (toilet roll!!!???). Others were fine. The staff were noticeably more visible, polite and helpful. The weirdest thing though was the loud upbeat retro music they were playing. Three Little Birds by Bob Marley and Celebrate by Kool & the Gang really stood out. Seriously? Carrefour never play music.

Anyway, we stayed on course for what needed to be done, queued up to pay (there weren't enough tills open!) and I admit I was surprised at what the final total was. Oh well. C'est la vie.

Back home and it was nearly 4 o'clock tea time. All the programmes on BBC World this weekend have been on the Coronavirus. One "Our World" documentary on the events as they unfurled in Wuhan was particularly good to watch. It helped to see the human side of the story; ordinary people having their lives changed to a new reality. I didn't realise Wuhan has been in lockdown since 23rd January. They had to go through the initial time when no-one even knew what was happening, what to do, how long it was going to take to get better etc. etc. etc.

PS. My blip is of the Heinz display at the hypermarket. It really made me laugh. G is standing there just to show how big it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.