Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Battery Replacement

I received a gift of money yesterday. It was completely unexpected and an amazing gesture by the giver. My laptop's battery has been dying for several months now. It got to the stage where I have to be permanently plugged in so after dropping G off, I drove straight to computer souq.

I shopped around to get a sensible price and was nearly on my way out when one store quoted the figure I had in my head (I had made enquiries last year) and asked the right questions. It took less than an hour to replace and I was so pleased I had my camera so I could get a shot of the innards. I can't get over how small the 1TB SSD drive is! As I type this, the battery has been charged and I've had three hours of work out of it!

We heard on the radio this morning that Phillips had announced the recent passing of the Dutch inventor, Lou Ottens. He died on 6th March at the age of 94, and is credited with inventing the Compact Cassette and pioneering the Compact Disc. Any lover of music who was an adult pre-2005 will know what I am talking about here. I for one am very thankful to Lou for his contributions to sound tools that transformed car journeys and so much more!

I digress. G was late getting picked up and I had to drive through several toll gates to make the best use of time. Santos came around with his guitar at 2 pm (we had 40 minutes for lunch). Today, we recorded a video of the song that G put new lyrics to. I helped with setting everything up. Lighting was a challenge but I am pleased to say that after an hour and lots of practice only a couple of takes, we had a usable video.

We then drove over to Al Ghusais on the other side of town for me to meet with a gentleman that my sister has put me in touch with. His company has recently acquired our favourite restaurant chain and the conversation was about what role I could have in helping with the expansion into new cities. I have a week to think of something!

Back home for the evening, G's lesson, dinner, checking out the battery, creating a new video, calling a friend re above role etc. etc. etc. It's been a good start to a new week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.