Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

"Beware the Ides of March" *

I think it's a case of beware of everything at the moment!

Today, we had the news that all gyms, cinemas and theme parks are closed in Dubai until 31st March. I also had an email from Dubai Opera saying they have suspended operations until April. I guess it is to be expected with everything else that's going on.

The day started quietly. My big job this week is to get the Trade Licence renewed. I got in touch with the man who helped me last March. Back then, I spent half a day in a multi-purpose centre watching all the goings-on in government offices. This year, it was all done using WhatsApp. I didn't even have a phone conversation with the man. There you go!

For some reason, I wasn't able to do a bank transfer directly from my laptop to pay for the service, so G & I ventured out in the afternoon to deposit cash straight into the man's bank account. I was impressed with how smoothly that went! Almost as smoothly as G delivering her online lesson, but only to one kid as the other one is in hospital with pneumonia. So sad. :(

We did a "small" meat shop today... G wants the freezer well-stocked. Think those are the highlights of the day. My blip is of our buildings and garden. Not a bad spot/view if we get to the stage where a lockdown is declared. I noticed that the building's cleaner was cleaning the balcony of the flat above us. Nice to know in case our cleaner isn't let back into the country in two weeks time or even let out of India for that matter.

* from Shakespeare's Julius Caesar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.