Ornate

These ornate lampposts used to be positioned outside the homes of the 6 Bailies on Edinburgh Town Council. The title was scrapped in 1975 but reintroduced in 2003 as a courtesy title.
The Lord Provost was afforded 2 outside his home and they were there long enough for daughter #4to pass them on her way to school where they lent an air of lucky charm so that if she ran round them once, she would do well in her daily arithmetic test.
Now at least some of them are positioned in George Square Gardens.

Covid19 has rid Edinburgh city center of the majority of tourists, so that it is a positive delight to walk unhampered by stravaigers and case pullers. Despite the warnings of doom to those elderly pensioners wanting to carry on as normal, I gauged it safe enough to meet up with 2 friends in the Virgin Money Lounge this morning. I was then even more reckless when I took the bus down to Maggie’s and back with a clutch of knitted chickens. However I will try and be careful for the rest of the week. I don’t want to be the bringer of the virus to my stepdaughter’s wedding on Saturday. Already one guest has pulled out because he lives in Spain. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that none of the other young guests are asymptomatic carriers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.