No Seduction Took Place in the Making of this Blip

An 8am seduction of a younger man or a breakfast coffee with a fellow blipper?
To help you decide let me tell you that we sat the regulation 1+ metres away and just managed an elbow bump on meeting. Sitting that far away with one of the parties being somewhat hard of hearing, on occasions it must have appeared to EcoDad that he was visiting an elderly friend in a care home although visits to theses places are banned at present. Nevertheless we managed to discuss many topical subjects and it is always refreshing to hear his younger generation take on matters. The world is so different in every way from the time I was in my prime!

Later, the son of a youngish couple above me rang my bell to give me his mobile number should I need anything. He is standing in as loco parentes as they have gone north for a few days. It’s hard to realise that people see you as old and vulnerable........ but such a lovely gesture.

Later again, my stepdaughter phoned to say they were having to cancel her wedding reception although she will still have the marriage ceremony with no attendants because the best maid had gone down today with Covid19 and they had all met up at the weekend. It remains to be seen if daughter#2 will feel she is a position to take me to the church although she has decided not to be present inside just in case of any infection.

Meanwhile I had phoned my ex neighbour and friend who is 100 and counting. She is as bright as a button but in lockdown in her care home in the company of many demented residents meaning she has no one visiting her and no one sensible to talk to. I don’t class myself as particularly sensible and sometimes I wonder if I have a touch of dementia when I can’t find the noun I’m looking for. Still, I’m better than no one and we do go back a long time to when I was 9.

All one can do is Keep Calm and Carry On.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.