The Coronavirus Address

   121 days ago, the Chinese brought forth upon their continent a new virus, conceived in bats, and dedicated to the transfer from bat, to the pangolin, to man.
   Now we are engaged in a great medical war, testing whether that virus, or any virus so conceived & so dedicated, can long endure. We are met on a great battlefield of that war. We have come "together" to self-isolate, hand sanitize, bleach wipe all surfaces and not touch our faces. It is all together fitting and proper that we should do this.
   But in a larger sense, we cannot sanitize, we can not bleach wipe, we cannot even wipe our butts! The "brave" men and women who didn't wish to struggle here, have hoarded the supplies, far above our poor power to find them. The world will little note, nor long remember what I've written here, but it can never forget what those selfish idiots DID here. It is for us, the self-isolated, to be dedicated to the welfare of our families, friends, & neighbors, and to support the unfinished work of scientists looking for a vaccine that they are even now trying so nobly to advance. It is rather for us to be here dedicated to the great task remaining before us--that we here highly resolve that these viruses will not survive--that our nations, under God, shall have a new birth of good health, and that the virus of the bat, by the pangolin, to the people, shall perish from the earth.
*My apologies, Mr. Lincoln, for my parody of your most eloquent words!
Today is my blipaversary--7 years, & I'd like to reiterate what so many blippers have already said. Blip is a unique, wonderful place, full of lovely, thoughtful, supportive people who make the world a better place--I'm honored to be a part of it.  Thanks to Jensphotos for hosting TT and her theme of "Irish, green or holy". (I stopped at our local florist to get a green flower......they didn't have any. She suggested I stop at the grocery store as they'd probably have them but I told her there were too many people in there & she said she understood. She pointed out there was green in this daisy, so I said I'd take it, and told her about blip & the "green" challenge. She thanked me for stopping by and gave me the flower....for free....I tried to argue, as she has a business to run, but she refused my money. So many wonderful people around!!) And if you've read all the way to here, bless you, as it's a long one!!  Happy St. Patrick's Day, & may the Saints be with us!  :))))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.