Dreich on the Beach

G and I went for a walk on the beach at West Runton this morning. It was forecast to be dry, but it was light drizzle (which left us very wet) and you could barely see Cromer pier, but it was great to get out whilst we can.  These are tractor trails from bringing in the fishing boats at East Runton. We bought annual car parking passes so we could visit at any time to walk on the beach and not have to use the parking meter keypad or handle money. The cafe hopes to stay open with take away food, wider spacing of seating outside and hand washing facilities. I went to Tesco in Sheringham on the way home - it was busy but eerily no-one was talking and the atmosphere was very subdued. This afternoon I steam cleaned my handbag, rucksack, camera bag and bags for life. 

A family member has been told by his bosses to self isolate for 12 weeks. I received a text from the surgery saying that all face to face appointment will be screened by a receptionist to 'eliminate all avoidable footfall'. I am confident of my plan re social isolation, I plan to write some personal goals for the period. I'm enjoying listening to Nickolas Nickleby, one of this months free audiobooks from Alexa / Amazon.

Day 3  (for my record of the emergency)
Death toll in UK now exceeds 100; 475 died in Italy today; schools are to close from Friday (not for children of key workers or vulnerable children); exams in May/June cancelled; virus testing is to be accelerated; renters to be protected from eviction; filming has stopped on BBC dramas like EastEnders; English Heritage is closing manned sites but unmanned will be open; National Trust will close houses, shops & cafes but hope to keep parkland open; RSPB is closing visitor centres, cafes & shops but is keeping as many reserves open as possible; supermarkets are finally taking action over stockpiling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.