WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Green scene

A blustery day, but our terrace is sheltered enough that I managed to spend some time there anyway. Reading matter is Zola's L'Assommoir which is not exactly a bundle of laughs, or indeed light reading at 600-odd (virtual) pages. I think I'll choose something easier next, so The Mirror and the Light will have to wait. 

Today's quarantine food diary: we had toasted muffins for breakfast, which made a nice change from cereal and saved on the milk consumption. I'm now regretting not having stocked up copiously on fresh fruit and veg when we did our supermarket shop. For lunch I made a lentil stew with Spanish pardina lentils (similar to Puy lentils but softer and with less flavour), a couple of rashers of bacon, the chicken stock I made yesterday, and the last two remarkably bland Lidl chorizos. I'd have liked to add more vegetables than just onion and garlic, but there you go; I perked it up with rosemary and thyme from the garden. It tasted fine, and we had it with yesterday's leftover rice, on the terrace. Tonight we'll eat the rest of the tagine. And crack open a bottle of wine, at least we haven't run out of that. S has just proposed poppadoms and mango chutney to start; we're nothing if not eclectic.

Stay well everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.