Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The good and the bad news

The bad news was this: even though I got up at 0500 and arrived at Tesco at 0600 for opening, there was no toilet paper. The place was very busy too, so social distancing was a bit of a challenge! I made a few purchases and beat a hasty retreat.

The good news was this: I was up very early and enjoyed the frosty, sunny morning. I was encouraged to go walking this morning and went to the National Trust's Allen Banks. The car park was half full when I arrived and three quarters full when I left.

I went on the east side of the Allen, where few people walk. I was surprised to find a group of 15 walkers with their two leaders. A dog was off its lead, despite notices to advise otherwise and the lambs in the field. In fairness, it was well behaved.

As the group came a gate ahead, the leader announced, "this is a kissing gate, so kiss as you come through!" She caught my eye and I must have looked disapproving, because she quickly changed the command. The group were all vulnerable young adults with learning disabilities. I hope they enjoyed their day out by the riverside and that they stay well.

On my way up to Moralee Tarn, I spotted these pretty fruiting bodies on some moss. Somehow this took my mind around to the toilet issue. Didn't people use sphagnum moss in the past? We also have soap and water easily to hand, so we don't need to worry too much. (We are not out of toilet rolls, so you don't need to send any parcels - just yet!)

We were going to watch Belgravia on the iplayer this afternoon, but the subtitles would not cast to the TV. It's so frustrating when this happens and it is usually ITV. 

I dozed. Mum did words. Liz phoned. We watched the news conference. Boris was full of jolly positivity today. Really Boris?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.