If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Cleaning.

I have realised of late that I rarely hear anybody speaking in proper Cumbrian or as it used to  be called "0or own mak o'talk".  On the grounds of "use it or lose it" O am starting to scatter more of the words into what I write.

Today's darrick (work or job) was more pressure washing, particularly cleaning up Clickychick's coffee corner woodland garden.   When I was a lad I was often told "feuls an bairns shud nivver see a job hawf deun" (fools and young children should never see a job half finished).   On the grounds that, hopefully nobody looking at this is either a fool or a young child this is the paving half pressure washed.  The dark colour is silt from the recent flooding of the garden.

As a final thought if ah hedn't hed me wellies an overtrousers on ah wad a'bin pussen wet.   Sorry I can't think of an exact translation of pussen and I an sure you can work the rest out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.