Closed

As he was home late last night, TT wasn’t keen to head into the office too early today, so I headed for the early bus.  Still people on it, but not as many as usual. The office was pretty deserted today, and it was all even more strange than yesterday.  Normally I would have lots to do, and I suppose I still do, but it just doesn’t seem much of a priority. 

I was to have  been in Glasgow today for a couple of meetings, but that didn’t happen.  I had the opportunity to call into one of the meetings, which was scheduled to last around four hours.  It just isn’t practical to call into a meeting of that length, so I declined.  The other meeting was replaced with a phone call.

There was lots of chat with colleagues who were in the office –  so much uncertainty.  I managed to drag myself out for half an hour at lunchtime, then came back to a message from our new Director advising of home working for the foreseeable future.  This was followed up with a Divisional meeting via Skype, which worked remarkably well, apart from on my computer!  A spare laptop was found for me (as my dodgy laptop is no longer allowing anyone to log in).  Colleagues drifted off after that – who knows when we will all meet in person again. I had to hang around for my phone call, and had to get myself organised for working from home.  I can’t quite get my head round the fact that I may be sitting at my kitchen table for at least  the next three months. This is really going to take some adjusting to and work will never be the same again.

When I eventually left the office it was pouring, and I got pretty wet.  There was only me and one other passenger on the bus home.  TT worked late again and I cobbled some food together for us.

BB’s cello tuition has stopped and his grade exam (scheduled for next week) is cancelled.  Such a shame, as he has practised so hard for it. Scouts also notified us that they will not be meeting in the near future.  I checked up on my mum and dad, who boasted of their full freezer.  We will know where to go when we are running low on supplies. 

TT and I played around with Skype and facetime this evening – just in case we are isolating from each other!!

This gallery (I recently blipped the unicorn) was closed today and I got notifications this evening that the National Galleries and Museums are also closed from tonight.  Strange times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.