New Desk

So today was the start of a new normal for me, whatever the new normal turns out to be.  Enforced home working.  While from time to time I bring work home in an evening to catch up, finish off or prep for the next day, I tend to avoid home working, as I try my best to keep work and home separate, especially over the years I have worked part time.  This is because I am not very disciplined and work could take over (and I see this in TT), just to keep on top of it.

It has been a strange day.  Yesterday I barely knew what Skype was, today I have had a number of Skype meetings and calls. How quickly we adapt.  I did get a bit stressed at one point, as I seemed to have too much information coming to me through too many channels, but I think this will either calm down, or again I will adapt.  I have quickly learned that I need a new routine, that does not just involve coming down the stairs and spending the rest of the day in the kitchen, hunched over my laptop.  I went for walk this evening and I really thought about the elements of my normal day and the part they play in my wellbeing, everything from getting dressed for work, to my walk to the bus stop and then my walk to the office.  I need to find a new normal.  It will take time, but I will think about it over the next few days and see where I get to on Monday.

BB appeared home when I was in the middle of a finance call, and was amazed to hear me talking about millions of pounds.  He commented that I was talking about millions, like he would talk about pounds and pence! It made me realise how little he really knows about my job.  He was delighted to be able to tell me that schools will close soon.

The highlight of my day was when he went and did his cello practice.  You don’t often get a live music recital when you are at work.

Here is my new desk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.