Gold Dust

Day 2 of working from home.  TT went into work, but he drove.  BB went off to school – his last full day for some time.  I was logged on by 8am, having hung my washing out.  I am thinking about what my new routine is, but still haven’t worked it out.  I found it harder to get going than yesterday.  Tried to Skype a colleague I haven’t seen for over a month, as he was on holiday, then in self-isolation and didn’t make it back into the office.  He could hear me, but I couldn’t hear him, so we resorted to a phone call.  We chatted work and he told me a bit about his holiday.  Next Skype call did work. The young daughter of a team member wasn’t well today, so he called in briefly, but was on caring duties.  He wasn’t sure how he was feeling either. 

I had two more calls cancelled later in the day as the participants were working flat out on business continuity issues and sorting out home working arrangements.  I had a very long conference call in the middle of the day, which almost finished me off.  I think these virtual meetings, take more energy than real life meetings.

It was time for some fresh air.  I had decided to buy my lunch from a local small business today, but by the time I got there, they only had cake and bread left.  I bought some cake and went in search of a sandwich elsewhere. TT and I have been talking about the need to support small businesses at this difficult time, or they will disappear forever.

The afternoon passed, BB came home from school.  He was feeling a bit overwhelmed as they have been given resources for home working – and he said there is just so much, I won’t be able to do it all.  I had a chat with him and said we would look at it all together, and help him decide on a schedule for tackling some of the projects.

I was just about to log off at 6.30pm when TT came home.  Another long day.  I need to take a look at how my hours are to be spread across the week and across the days.

There were lots of yummy leftovers for tea tonight, then I had to go out and get some steps.  When I came back, I had a look around Google Classroom with BB – I can understand why he is feeling overwhelmed – I was too. 

TT came home bearing gifts tonight, a bottle of home brew and this hand sanitiser.  He spoils me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.