Self Isolating

BB’s last day at school for a while, probably his last day in s2.  TT was working from home, and I was venturing into Edinburgh to pick up my new glasses, while I I still can.  I drove to the station, and had my choice of parking,.  I was the only person to get on the train, and there were plenty of seats to choose from.  As I walked along George Street, I was surprised at the number of shops that were closed, which made me wonder whether I would get my glasses. 

When I reached my destination the door was opened for me and I was approached by another member of staff who asked me to sanitise my hands.  He then found my glasses, checked they were a reasonably good fit, but could not touch them.  They seemed ok, so hopefully they will be fine.  I can go back in the future (who knows when that might be!) to get them adjusted if necessary.  I then had a little wander, and was a little taken aback when I approached a pedestrian crossing and a woman already standing there, gave me a look and took a few steps away.  I wasn’t even very close to her.

I walked back to Princes Street, paid a quick visit to M&S food hall, which was like another world.  So much stuff.  So unlike our local supermarkets.  I picked up a few treats and some chicken and headed to the office to pick a few things up and also to print off some documents – which is not so easily done at home.  Our little printer would go into meltdown if I tried to print out a lengthy document.  A couple of colleagues and my boss were in, so I had a quick chat with them.  So nice to see people in person.

I was home in time for lunch.  TT had picked up some lovely filled rolls from a local deli.  As he was working, I pottered, then decided I should get out for a walk and leave him in peace.  It was lovely to get out in the sunshine.  BB didn’t join me, but I will have to make sure he gets some exercise and fresh air in the coming weeks and months.

Later we had a takeaway for tea, and then I sat on the sofa, trying to decide what my next binge watch might be – Spooks maybe, and I need to start a new book.  But as for every Friday evening in recent time, I dozed off. We had planned to visit Grandma this weekend, but events have overtaken that.

Another Anthony Gormley statue -  self isolating!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.