I've been up on my plot all day

It was glorious! Got there just after 8a.m started by planting the first batch of onion sets, with just enough room to squeeze the garlic on the end, they filled a raised bed perfectly, next the broad beans plants, I had 3 over so quickly started another bed to pop them in. The farmer was manuring the field next to the allotment site. The smell was proper countryside .. I was very envious. He came really close to the hedge on the last lap, the dung flying over the hedge and landing on the shed roofs ... Bang! Bong! Clatter! Next weeded between the leeks, followed by the swede, they're a bit piddly but enough for a pasty or adding to a stew. The parsnips had some creeping buttercup plants in amongst them so I oiked them out. Took a break from weeding and pruned the gooseberry & currant bushes, then back to the weeding, & preparing beds. I can't get my head around where everything is going to go, but I guess I'll find space for it all. Too nice to go home so I rang hubby and asked if he could boil me an egg, make me a mug of coffee and bring them up to me, which he did. The sun was shining, the birds were singing their little hearts out. I ate the second KitKat, big mistake. It gave me heartburn. That'll teach me. More weeding, & top dressing beds by which time I was kneeling. 3.30pm  ... Time to stop before I seized up.
I could hardly move when I got home. The thought of soaking in a lovely hot bath ........... I had a hot shower. Watched The Chase with my glass of Magners, nipping out to the kitchen, preparing the veg in the advert breaks. I found a lone pack of fresh chicken legs in the Spar early this morning, & a wholemeal loaf in the Coop......I hear ya!!!! Hubby said he would only eat ....... well in normal circumstances I would agree but these are not normal circumstances ... so it was roast chicken for dinner. Some dinky parsnips off the plot :- ).
Then the news ... Oh dear!!!! He will not be happy. Pubs, clubs, restaurants etc. all have to close from tonight, and so they should if people do not heed the advice about social  distancing.  He was not happy when he came in .. "Do you know the last time the pubs did'nt open?" "Well, yes, I do actually. Xmas Day. Tom did'nt open on Xmas day".

The forecast is good for the next few days so providing I'm still able to move in the morning, you'll know where to find me ... Self isolating up on the plot. :- )

Stay safe blippers & have a good weekend.

Thanks to Anni/ BikerBear for hosting flower Friday. No flowers on the beans just yet but fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.