Love is in the air

The peafowl, correct name apparently, are pairing up. Apparently the peahens can lay their eggs while on a perch,  in a tree, or in a scratched out shallow hollow on the ground. The hens may share a nest. "On the days that the peahen is going to lay an egg she gets a droopy look about her". Love that!!!! That's enough info on peafowl. I  predict a population explosion if the  shenanigans are anything to go by. They are rather beautiful, & photogenic.
Up & about early this morning, leisurely breakfast with the windows & door wide open downstairs ... As much as hubby feels the cold you still need fresh air in the house so that's what happens while he's still in the land of nod. I was itching to get out, so I drove up to the allotment with the kitchen waste, topped up the composter, fed Bobby robin, then cleaned the inside of the car. (Hubby keeps nagging me :-(( ). Back to base, made him indoors a coffee then the Coop for the newspaper so Mum can study the horses while I'm walking Indie. I noticed the Community Clothes bank was overflowing, plus 5 large bags full of clothes left beside it. There was a number to call if it was full so gave made a quick call. Grabbed a couple of seeded bread rolls from the Community fridge then CK. Had a lovely walk with Indie across the heath. Quite mild this morning but not sign of the sun, not even a glimmer.
Back at Mum's I staked the obelisk that I placed in the garden a couple of days back when I removed the rotten tree stump that was supporting the rambling rose & honeysuckle. Only the thick stems of ivy holding the trunk together. I'm really pleased with the result. Alison, one of Mum's neighbours remarked on passing. Think I've scored some brownie points. LOL!! A coffee while I filled Mum's Census form in for her. Read the electric & gas meters as both are obviously estimated at the mo due to Covid restrictions so sending those through by email, that will be my next job after dinner while hubby is watching the rugby final.
Mum came back to Chudders for the afternoons horse racing ..... Don't ask!!! Can you do bets for last in the race???? A bit of a clue. LOL!!
Nipped to the Coop before dropping Mum back home ... she gets through a jar of marmalade per week ... Does Paddington bear live in CK???
Just looked at the Marfona spuds, they're in an repurposed apple box on the spare bed,  they're chitting well. Lets hope it's a good year for growing.

Right then, time to make a speedy dinner.
Hope you're all having a good weekend.
Ciao 4 now! x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.