Spring cleaning

I forgot to pick up a chewing gum after my medication this morning, thought I had a tub in the car, when I opened it, it was the sunflower hearts for Bobby robin up on the plot. Oh poo! Had to do a quick pit stop to purchase some in the village shop. A couple of hours spent on Mum's garden early this morning, one section weeded, Photinia 'Red Robin' in , plus some pieces of perennials to give some colour later on, followed by Indie's lap of the heath, plus a Dipper twitch. The Dipper was dipping on a rock on the rivers edge when 3 male Mallards came down with the current, obviously interested in the dipper, they hung a right in unison, stared directly at the Dipper, still dipping, then took off, the dipper taking off in the same direction as well. So amusing to watch.  Tomorrow I will take my camera with me. Back at Mum's for a quick caffeine fix before heading home.
IT was a flippin' sauna in the house ... phew!  Some of my containerised plants needed potting on, a few condensed in large pots to create longer periods of interest. Then I emptied the over wintering plants from the floor in the greenhouse, gave them a tidy up, followed by a watering & drain. I'm attempting to make more space for seed propagation. ERMMMM!  They all looked better for a tidy but too early to leave them out, so a good sweep through, (Blip opportunity),  then lunch while the pots drained. All back inside later, I created some cloches with the repurposed plastic strawberry punnets. Perfect! I don't trust the mice. One cheeky little critter whizzed out, grabbed a crusty piece of bread from the ground, then disappeared back under the plants.  I tidied up the box of glass jars I've saved for chutney/jam/jelly production next Autumn, grabbed some stored apples ,then headed indoors.
I've just completed our on-line census, then sent Mum's utility readings that I took yesterday, off in an email, as she's received a letter with estimated readings. Admin completed. It's cider o'clock & time to make dinner.

Thanks to Marlieske for continuing to host Derelict Sunday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.