A "Good Morning" Surprise

I woke up about 7:30 this morning, looked out the window & had such a nice surprise! It had snowed during the night, so I got dressed, grabbed the camera and went out, knowing it wouldn't last very long. It was so beautiful that after I'd taken some pictures in the back yard, I left the camera in the porch and went for a walk. It was morning rush hour, and normally I'd hear nothing but cars driving on the parkway off in the distance; oh, I could hear cars, but they were only occasional. Mostly I heard the red-winged blackbirds singing, and I spotted one bright red cardinal sitting way up high on the top of a tree who was adding his beautiful song to the mix. I must have seen at least a dozen robins hopping along in the snow. I only passed one other person, who was walking his dog. We said hello to each other, and he asked which direction I was going, so he chose a different way so that we wouldn't pass each other. I saw an elderly man looking out the window of the assisted living building I passed, so I waved, and he waved back. I can't explain the feeling of peace and wonder that I felt. I was so full of gratitude that at least at this moment, I was safe, I have enough to eat, a roof over my head,  my family is well, I'm able to be outside walking, & the cold air was so wonderfully invigorating. I said a prayer, thanking God for all our blessings, & asking him to keep all of us--through out the world--safe until this pandemic has passed.  I wasn't home even 5 minutes when Tom told me "my buddies" were looking for me. My buddies?? And he pointed to the window, so I looked out. There were 4--yes 4!--squirrels all sitting in the front of the house, looking toward the window expectantly. So of course I grabbed a handful of peanuts (they have me well trained) and threw them out...they don't even run off anymore when I open the door, as they know what's coming. I thought this one with the snow on it's face was just the cutest!  :))

“Think about every good thing in your life right now. Free yourself of worrying. Let go of the anxiety, breathe. Stay positive, all is well.”
― Germany Kent

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.