Out, Out Damn Spot

It was only a matter of time...somebody had to do it. Lady Macbeth was descending into madness out of guilt for her role in a murder. I am descending into madness for having to wash my hands of unseeable germs 50 times a day, even though I don't go anywhere. 

Inattention and frustration are growing.
I couldn't get the sound to work on my computer so we had to check out of our Zoom Pilates class. I even managed to install Google Chrome as advised by Zoom, but there is still no sound. I am at the limit of my admittedly limited technical abilities.

John's computer has inexplicably lost its WiFi connection with no alternative offered. This is not normal.  My computer lists every WiFi in the neighborhood, but John has fewer computer skills than I do.

Amazon's food delivery service is booked up for days in advance.There is no way to find this out before filling one's cart with food.

I checked into making a sourdough starter and decided it would just be one more source of frustration. Having a sourdough starter to feed might just be enough to send me round the bend....

Over the weekend, people flocked to the beaches, ignoring the shelter in place and even the social distancing rules that have been in place here for nine days. The beaches have now all been closed and the police are talking about moving from 'education mode' to arrest mode....

Hospital workers are having to reinvent the whole notion of patient care, erecting tents, sterilizing and reusing face masks and triaging patients who need respirators because there aren't enough. 

The WHO is saying that the only way to get a handle on this pandemic is
to test everybody to find out and isolate those who are infected and the people they have been with. But there are no test kits. Even symptomatic people here are not guaranteed a test.

Don't even get me started on Trump. It's going to be up to the governors to try to wrestle with this pandemic. Trump doesn't have a clue because all he knows about anything is as it relates to directly to him....

Given the circumstances, we have much to be grateful for.  I think we're all entitled to succumb to frustration and uncertainty once in awhile. I hope I look back on this entry one day and see it as the ravings of a madwoman, but in the meantime everybody stay home, keep washing your hands and stay healthy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.