Contact

I don't usually have a problem with being on my own but this situation with the coronavirus seems to be getting to me. What I needed, I realised, was a bit of contact. Thus, this morning, I enjoyed a coffee with Keith and, later on, a cup of tea with Simon, both thanks to FaceTime. 

Now this is quite something! When we aren't actually face to face, then almost all of my contact with my friends is via one messaging service or another. If I was to actually call one of them up on the phone, I'm pretty sure their greeting would be a slightly apprehensive "Why are you calling me?" (And that is precisely what I say on the rare occasions they ring me!)

And do you know what? It was a huge help and really enjoyable, too. The icing on the cake was a FaceTime with Dom in the evening over a glass of wine. Of course, I'd prefer to see them in person but for now this is a good substitute. Which is just as well: 'lockdown' was announced, this evening. 

****
-10.0 kgs
Reading: 'Kraftwerk: Future Music From Germany' by Uwe Schütte

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.