Sheltering on porch

When I received this photo from Sharon this morning, I just knew it had to be today's blip, even though it was not taken by me.  Sharon has a wonderful porch for sitting and you can find her out there nearly every day.  Her neighbors come to sit and chat and share a drink, but of course they're all gathered around the table sharing snacks.  Shelter in place has changed that, but her neighbors decided to bring their own chairs, drinks and food and visit while sitting about 12 feet away.  So a lovely time was had while staying safe.

I got a call from cousin Marcia this morning and it was good talking with her - I'd been thinking of calling her but she beat me to it.  She gave me advice about keeping myself fit post surgery, and gave me news of her family.  Her younger son is married to a Canadian woman who writes for Slate and is able to work remotely,   So they and their two boys (who have dual citizenship) have headed to Toronto to stay at her brother's home for the duration.  At least they will be in a country that doesn't have a mad man leading it to ruin.

I had to go down to the lobby to pick up a package I'd ordered from Amazon, and I was scared.  My ancient package of disinfectant wipes wouldn't fit in the walker basket, so I couldn't deal with it on the spot.  When I got back, I discovered Doug had been by and left a bag with some cans of fruit that Lex had forgotten to give me when she shopped.  Upon opening my door, I raced to the bathroom where I wiped everything down with disinfectant and scrubbed my hands thoroughly.  I hope all that was good enough.

Tomorrow morning the occupational therapist will come by, and in the early afternoon the bath aide will come to help me take a shower. Then we will be safe from intrusion for a good while, unless the cleaners call.

I hope all of you are enjoying your stay at home and not slipping into melancholy, which would be all too easy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.