Day 5 - seeds planted

A reasonable morning at work, with the added entertainment of a team meeting using the Microsoft Teams app. I was pleased that a couple of us had risen to my challenge to make a story from our 5 words of the day. Something we had been working up to this week. I finished at 12 and had the afternoon off. I left work at 12, and was lucky to be home by 12.

The job I’ve been wanting to do all week meant my afternoon was spent between potting shed and greenhouse. I planted lots of seeds in various pots and trays. Then put them all on the lounge window sill for maximum heat and light to help them germinate - well away from the mice! From the left i have french beans, runner beans, climbing beans, dwarf beans and Roma tomato’s.in the cat litter tray, then Brussels and cauliflower, then basil, cucumbers (second go at these) & pomadora tomato’s, then the tray underneath is spinach beet. The penultimate tray is the inner bit from the biscuit box from Christmas with 6 pots in it. They contain sweet corn,aubergine, beefsteak tomato’s, water melons( yeah, I know - it’s a tiny pot and just 3 seeds) and more cucumbers. The final box, which is the biscuit box full of toilet tubes, is all sweet corn.

Now if something doesn’t grow out of that lot, I’m doing something seriously wrong!!

Jon went shopping to Lidl. He got almost everything. He wore gloves as were most people in the shop. Had to go in co-op too for a few extra bits, but said it was very quiet. Info for Manda, there were loads of eggs. Jon bought a box of 15, but said they had a range, just no large ones. What a shame we are so far from each other. Was nice to briefly FaceTime earlier though.

My new desk chair arrived today in lots of bits. Jon put it together for me and it is great! I could get used to working from home - oh, but I remember now, my employer says it isn’t possible. Ha ha.

At 4, I changed and Mollie and I went for a run. We have been puzzling over how far we have actually been running. We both have a phone, both different and both have a Fitbit but mine is Huawei. All 4 devices give a different reading. Jon has measured a definite 5k route. It seemed an awful long way, but we said we would have a go. And we did it! In fact we did a little more. It was exhausting but now i know I have actually run a genuine 5k. Lots was off road - I didn’t like that. My Samsung phone, using Samsung health, is the most generous, and said we ran 8k!!! How can they be so different? I ache but happy, having done 3 pretty long runs (for me) in one week. I’d estimate the others have been about 3k. We ended our run by the allotment where I met Ryan for the first time (from a distance) our allotment neighbour. I suspect we will see more of him over the next few weeks.

Pizza and chips now in the oven. TV tonight and popcorn! Happy weekends at home everyone x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.