Garden Day

A lie in! That was nice, then a relaxed breakfast. Brown toast with strawberry jam. I only have toast on a Saturday and consider it a treat. Always with butter.

We planned to do gardening in the morning, and relax in the afternoon. At 11 we all had a FaceTime chat with mum and dad which was nice. I tried to stress to them that they MUST NOT go out. Even though they think a newspaper is essential. I think they listened. Manda is getting essentials for them, but they have been food shopping. It is a worry for me.

After our chat, we all went out in the garden. Jon cleared an area of crocosmia that has taken over and I haven’t been able to clear it all as it was so solid. I decided I need to start from scratch. Then, while he did that, I worked further down that bed, mainly trying to remove ground elder. I even dug up a hydrangea, picked out the ground elder roots from its roots, and replanted it further along. I hope I haven’t killed it by doing that. While we worked there, Henry built a beautiful path, edged and paved. Mollie planted lots of seeds and potted up the old tin bath with herbs. Daniel walked the dog, and if it isn’t raining I hope to get him to the allotment tomorrow.

I’m really pleased with the result. More next weekend, when I hope to have that side finished.

We also managed to get two loads of washing out including my bedding, which means I have new sheets on my bed tonight, and I’m sure everyone agrees that is one of life’s treats!

I actually was outside until 5, so missed my afternoon of relaxing, but I’m doing that now. Planning a bit of knitting. It’s a bit like my reading habit, in that I already have some knitting on the go, but am going to start something new. A free pattern I downloaded of a dog, with little knitted wellies and a jacket on. I’m going to do it with Mollie - a joint effort. Now to see what wool I have....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.