The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Pub Quiz Outfit for the online Mask and Gown

Steve and I woke far too early. I'd been having a CoVid19 dream. While S made tea, I checked my phone. The three family households in NZ were just getting ready for a pub quiz via Zoom. They invited us to join them, so I had to install Zoom quickly, and then find an outfit. I chose a dress from the back of the door.. My brother R, eccentrically enough, was wearing Plus Fours! He later shared us this photo. It's the sort of outfit our paternal grandfather used to wear, but I never remember him looking young or even middle aged.

Readers, we lost. In fact we even came last. The shame of it! However, there were only one and a half of us, Steve being in and out, making coffee, etc. And it was Six in the Morning for us! However, we said we'd return to the online pub next week, and they've even agreed to run it an hour later for us. Perhaps some others from our international family will join in. Hope so.

After that excitement, I took the bed apart, lifted it up, and hoovered underneath. By myself. I found four pens, a birthday card from 2014, and a Times Crossword puzzle from January 2009. Not yet done.

Then I got out my toolbox and fixed the bedroom window. Phoned my mother. It was still only about 11 am.

Walked to town. Delivered a thermometer on the way. The weather had turned cold and grey, but I was delighted to get some fresh fruit and veg from the outdoor market at the Shambles. I put them in my wheelie suitcase, and visited a few more shops. Weirder and weirder. However, I 'scored' many valuable items, and only spent £34. Our building society branch has closed for the time being, though. The post office is still open, I'm pleased to say. I do consider it essential, though I wish someone would send me something, apart from invitations to sign up for things I can no longer afford!

By this time I had a full bag and a suitcase, and I'd been in the Home Bargains shop where someone was coughing dryly (I pulled up my neck warmer over my nose). I'd had enough, so went to the bus terminus. Ghost buses were running, no one on them at all. Couldn't see one for me for forty minutes. The walk home is uphill, and takes about twenty minutes. I called Clean Steve, he came and picked me up in the car.

At home, I washed all the shopping, dried it, and put away all the previous shopping loads as well. Made lunch (more tinned soup, salad) for us both, and planned our homemade meals for next week. We have chicken now, as well as fish and vegetables. Sunday lunch?

Had a bath, put on a load of washing including all the clothes I'd worn to town, and retired to bed for a little nap. Several hours later, I am still there.

I realise that most of this is incredibly boring, but I wanted to document it for social history. I have suddenly become a housewife, 56. Tedious, isn't it?

Happy Saturday night and Sunday, folks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.